Saturday, November 28, 2015

Minions: Snow Day

A chilly winter tale featuring your favorite sweet and subversive Minions
Kevin, Stuart, Bob, and the rest of the Minion tribe are enjoying a snow day. They're digging holes, building igloos, and making snowmen... make that snow-Minions But when a giant bear comes along, will he ruin their day?
A new, original adventure featuring the characters from the hit animated feature
Minions (c) 2015 Universal Studios. All Rights Reserved.

Gone with the Gin: Cocktails with a Hollywood Twist

Here's drinking with you, kid
We know your type. You love the smell of napalm in the morning, you see dead people, and you re the king (or queen ) of the world. No matter your cinematic stripe, there's a beverage (or ten) tailor-made just for you.
A perfect gift for film buffs and a terrific twist on movie nights, "Gone with the Gin" is the ultimate cocktail book for die-hard silver screen aficionados who prefer to be shaken, not stirred. Included within are 50 delicious drinkspaired with winking commentary on history's most quotable filmsplus an all-star lineup of drinking games, movie-themed munchies, and illustrations throughout.
So go ahead, make my drink.

Friday, November 27, 2015

Jim Murray's Whiskey Bible

Jim Murray was a Hartford, Connecticut, native and 1943 Trinity College graduate. He worked at the New Haven Register and Los Angeles Herald-Examiner, and was TIME Inc.'s Hollywood correspondent, a founding father of Sports Illustrated, and sports columnist for the Los Angeles Times for 37 years. Murray was inducted into Cooperstown's Baseball Hall of Fame writers' wing in 1988 and won a Pulitzer Prize for Commentary in 1990. He died in 1998.

Thursday, November 26, 2015

Samurai Santa: A Very Ninja Christmas

A young ninja wants a snowball fight for Christmas, and he just might get his holiday wish in this picture book with graphic novel inspired illustrations that celebrate the spirit of giving, Samurai style.
It's snowing on Christmas Eve Yukio loves snowball fights, but none of the other ninjas will play with him for fear of landing on Santa's naughty list. Can Yukio chase Santa away from Ninja Village, or will a Samurai Santa thwart Yukio's plan? An epic snowball fight later, one thing's for sure: this is going to be Yukio's best Christmas ever.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Cthulhu's Coloring Book and Necronomicon of Sunny Day Doings

Phil is a full time artist an graphic designer. He works in a variety of industries including publishing where he had designed scores of book covers and illustrated three children's book.

Phil is a full time artist an graphic designer. He works in a variety of industries including publishing where he had designed scores of book covers and illustrated three children's book.

Click, Clack, Ho! Ho! Ho!

Santa comes to the barnyard in this holiday addition to the award-winning Click, Clack series from the "New York Times "bestselling and Caldecott winning team who brought you "Click, Clack, Moo "and "Click, Clack, Peep "
It's the night before Christmas and all through the farm, not a creature is stirring, not even
Farmer Brown is busy decorating his home in preparation for Santa's arrival on Christmas Eve All seems calm in the barnyard, but Farmer Brown isn t the only one who is getting ready...
Once again, Duck has gotten the whole barnyard STUCK in quite a predicament Will anyone be able to un-stuck Duck and save Christmas?

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

The Official A Game of Thrones Coloring Book

The perfect gift for fans of George R. R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO's "Game of Thrones, "this one-of-a-kind coloring book features forty-five exclusive illustrations
In a world where weddings are red, fire is green, and debts are paid in gold, countless images leap off the page (or the screen) thanks to the eye-popping intricacy of the vivid settings and details. Now, for the first time, fans of this blockbuster saga can fill in the blanks and marvel as this meticulously imagined universe comes to life, one sword, sigil, and castle at a time. With dozens of stunning original black-and-white illustrations from world-renowned illustrators Yvonne Gilbert, John Howe, Tomislav Tomi, Adam Stower, and Levi Pinfold, this unique collector's item expands the reach of an international phenomenon with flying colors.

The Twelve Burps of Christmas

George burps his way through the holidays!

In the first Super Special of Nancy Krulik's popular series, George stars in two stories! Between the class play and his old best friend's surprise visit, the Christmas celebrations are shaping up to be a season of fun! But of course the magic burps--an even dozen of them--put a crazy spin on all his plans. If only Santa could leave George a cure for burps under the tree!

Frozen Olaf's Night Before Christmas Book & CD

'Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house, not a creature was stirring . . . until a sound awakens Olaf. Read along as Olaf has the adventure of a lifetime with a mysterious stranger in red. This beautifully illustrated 32-page paper-over-board picture book comes with a read-along CD featuring audio narration by Josh Gad, the voice of Olaf Fans of all generations will delight in Olaf's innocent and humorous account of "The Night Before Christmas."

Monday, November 23, 2015

Independent We Stand, But Not Alone

You may have already read that From My Shelf Books & Gifts has advanced to round two of the Indie Awards sponsored by Only twenty five businesses made the cut, and we couldn't have done it without your votes. Thank you so much!

Voting to advance us to round three starts today. You can vote once a day per IP address, that means some of you can vote from home, from work, AND when you are drinking your latte in the coffee shop. Voting continues until December 13th. Then the top ten businesses will proceed to Round 3, where a panel of judges will choose the winner.

Your vote can make that happen for From My Shelf Books. You can go to our Facebook page where we will have a link pinned to the top to make voting easier. If you haven't already liked our Facebook page, please do. We have lots of great cartoons, word play, and geek culture. If you love our store, please leave a review. It helps keep us visible and in the ratings.

If you don't do the Facebook thing, you can still vote by visiting

Thanks so much for helping us get this far.

The Staff at From My Shelf Books & Gifts