Friday, March 24, 2017

Have You Voted For Wellsboro?

by Kevin Coolidge


My family goes back several generations in Wellsboro, and I was born at Soldiers and Sailors hospital, right in Wellsboro. We've mostly been blue collar workers, farmers and factory workers and truck drivers. It's not always an easy way to make a living. I remember when the local glass plant went from Corning Inc., to GTE, to Osram-Sylvania to closed.

A lot of my family worked there. I worked there myself for five years. Factory work can be hard on the body, but it was a job that put me through school. I moved away from Wellsboro for that schooling, but moved back, because I love my hometown.

That's why I nominated Wellsboro for the Main Street Pennsylvania contest. If Wellsboro wins, the 25,000 will go to the local Wellsboro Chamber of Commerce. I don't know what the money will be used for. $25,000 doesn't go as far as it used to. I'm hoping it will go to a shop local campaign, or maybe used to attract a company that can put Wellsboro and Tioga County back to work.

I have a vested interest in the area. I have a business that I approach with the same working class ethic I was born to. I work every day, if the bookstore isn't open, I'm working on my writing. My books are set in Wellsboro. The first rule of writing is write what you know. I write where I know and make the rest up.

One of my goals with my books is to put Wellsboro into the national spotlight. Wellsboro already does so much right with the Laurel Festival, and Dickens of a Christmas, and has that feeling that just says home. I want to continue on the hard work of those who came before, that milked the cows, that picked the cullet, that promoted the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon.

So, vote for Wellsboro. It's easy. Just click on the photo of Wellsboro and you can vote once every 24 hours until April 1st. Then we get to see if Wellsboro moves to the next round, but most importantly, vote for Wellsboro in other ways.

Buy your shoes in town if you can, or your underwear. If you buy a book, buy it from my store. I put that money right back into the community like my family has been doing for generations. Don't do it for me, or your neighbor, or yourself. Do it for everyone. Do it for Wellsboro and Tioga County.


SHARE THIS NOMINATION WITH FRIENDS TO HELP WELLSBORO MAIN STREET PENNSYLVANIA GET MORE VOTES:

CLICK ON THE PHOTO TO BE TAKEN TO THE WEBSITE TO VOTE!!!

Thursday, March 23, 2017

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest



An international bestseller and the basis for the hugely successful film, Ken Kesey's One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest is one of the defining works of the 1960s.

In this classic novel, Ken Kesey's hero is Randle Patrick McMurphy, a boisterous, brawling, fun-loving rebel who swaggers into the world of a mental hospital and takes over. A lusty, life-affirming fighter, McMurphy rallies the other patients around him by challenging the dictatorship of Nurse Ratched. He promotes gambling in the ward, smuggles in wine and women, and openly defies the rules at every turn. But this defiance, which starts as a sport, soon develops into a grim struggle, an all-out war between two relentless opponents: Nurse Ratched, backed by the full power of authority, and McMurphy, who has only his own indomitable will. What happens when Nurse Ratched uses her ultimate weapon against McMurphy provides the story's shocking climax.

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

The Totally Ninja Raccoons Meet the Weird & Wacky Werewolf


In The Totally Ninja Raccoons Meet the Weird & Wacky Werewolf, the Ninja Raccoons continue their ninja training, learn teamwork, and meet a creature of legend, a werewolf.

The Ninja Raccoons decide to track and catch the werewolf for the prize offered for capturing such a creature. Will the Raccoons succeed in their mission? Are friends more important than money? Do werewolves taste good with hot sauce?

There are more things in heaven and earth than these three brothers ever dreamed. Cats are trying to take over the world; monsters are real; and Chinese food really will make you hungry soon after you eat it. It's up to the Ninja Raccoons to do something about it.



The Totally Ninja Raccoons and the Secret of Nessmuk Lake Is Available for Pre-order


The Totally Ninja Raccoons and the Secret of Nessmuk will be officially released May 1st and is available for pre-order now, for just 5.99. This is the 6th adventure of the Totally Ninja Raccoons and has the Loch Ness Monsters, a new member of the Cat Board(a Scottish Fold), and a unicorn!

In The Totally Ninja Raccoons and The Secret of Nessmuk Lake, the Ninja Raccoons continue their ninja training, learn to respect privacy, and meet a creature of Scottish legend, The Loch Ness Monster!

The Cat Board plots against the Ninja Raccons as the Raccoons explore the depths of Lake Nessmuk. Will the Raccoons learn the secret? Will the Cat Board triumph? Will Rascal finally learn to swim?

There are more things in heaven and earth than these three brothers ever dreamed. Cats are trying to take over the world; monsters are real; and Chinese food really will make you hungry soon after you eat it. It's up to the Ninja Raccoons to do something about it.

Has your child tried a Totally Ninja Raccoon adventure yet? With five currently to chose from, they are sure to find one they enjoy. I've been getting feedback that children are reading each one several times, the true litmus test of an enjoyable book.

You can get the Totally Ninja Raccoons at From My Shelf Books & Gifts, or wherever books are sold. Come to the bookstore to meet the author, and get signed, personalized copies.

Maisy Goes to the Local Bookstore



Kids love Maisy -- and Maisy loves books Follow her as she discovers the wonders of the bookstore for the first time.

Today Maisy is going to the bookstore to buy a new book, but there are so many to choose from There's a big brown book about bears, a long blue book about fish, a noisy book about trucks, and a book about things to draw and paint. Just as Maisy finds a beautiful book of rhymes that her friend Tallulah will love, out pops Charley from behind the shelves. -Ahoy, Maisy - he says, holding a book about pirates. Now what kind of books will Cyril and Eddie choose?

Wendy J. Reber Book Signing


From My Shelf Books & Gifts will host local author Wendy J Reber with her first book, “A Long Legged Life” Saturday April 15th from 11AM to 1PM, 2017. This novel takes place in rural New York and Pennsylvania with side trips to other states, and states of mind.

Eva Kenier’s fairytale childhood in the 60’s and 70’s starts out as a sheltered babbling brook that flows into turbulent rapids and waterfalls. “Scenes in my book range from funny to tragic; mundane to provocative; juvenile to harshly serious.” Eva’s journey, while under anesthesia, covers personal heartbreak and triumph with a transformative message that Reber hopes will connect and resonate with her audience.



Wendy and her husband John have lived in Wellsboro since 2005. The author states, “The inspiration I receive from our natural surroundings and quiet slow pace lends itself to creative writing, and I am thrilled to sign with Ms. Christensen and Fifth Ink Publishing to publish my work. While recuperating from disc fusion surgery in my neck, I took advantage of the down time and it was my way of punching a clock and keeping a routine with purpose.”

Author’s note: This book is intended as a timeline of memories that surfaced for Eva in a dream sequence. This novel is inspired by true events with names and places changed to protect the innocent—and the not-so-innocent.




Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Operation Ragnarok Mugs


I just got in my first batch of Operation Ragnarok mugs, and they look great. Operation Ragnarok is my fist adult novella. Operation Ragnarok is a fantastical adventure with comedic elements about a group of Dungeon & Dragon players going through a mid-life crisis, instead of the little red corvette, they decide to steal a Viking longship from a museum and release an ancient evil. It's a story of friendship, sacrifice, and unleashing Hel on Earth.

Of course, you don't have to have read the book to enjoy this mug with artwork from the novella. Great for fans of Vikings, Norse Mythology, Viking Longboats,Dungeons & Dragons and more.

These mugs sell for just $11.99 each, and will be 6.50 if I have to ship. Just got 12 in this first batch, but will have more in soon at From My Shelf Books & Gifts. You can put coffee, mead, or your liquid of choice in this mug.



















The Totally Ninja Raccoons Meet Bigfoot



In The Totally Ninja Raccoons meet Bigfoot, our protagonists discover they are not meant to be ordinary bandits, but rather carry the potential to be something extraordinary, ninjas.

In this origin story, the Ninja Raccoons begin their ninja training, and meet their first potential employer--Gypsy the Cat. Gypsy sends the Raccoons on their first mission, to capture the elusive Bigfoot.

Things aren't what they seem to be. Bigfoot isn't the monstrous beast, as he's been portrayed. Gypsy isn't the benign employer. Cats want to take over the world.

The Totally Ninja Raccoons learn that sometimes you have to choose your own path if you want to choose your destination.


AVAILABLE AT FROM MY SHELF BOOKS & GIFTS, OR JUST CLICK ON THE BOOK COVER TO BE TAKE TO A LINK TO PURCHASE!!


Platform 9 3/4 Hogwarts Express Sign



RUN RIGHT INTO THE WALL!

Everyone has that one guest at the party who has always has too much to drink. This year, if the conversation over butterbeer turns to who voted for whom or if Star Wars is better than Star Trek or if JJ Abrams ruined our childhoods, show your guests this new sign:

"Look everyone! I had a special portal to Platform 9 3/4 installed last week! If you run straight at it, you can be at Hogwarts by midnight!"

The most sloshed of your guests will be out like a light in under five minutes, and the rest of your party will go quite smoothly! Especially if you look pointedly at someone who's acting up and then the sign.

Product Specifications
Platform 9 3/4 Hogwarts Express Wooden Sign
Perfect for welcoming guests into a magical experience!
Sawtooth hanger on back
Materials: Wood
Dimensions: 20" wide x 7" tall x 1/2" deep

Available at From My Shelf Books & Gifts in Wellsboro PA, or Just Click the Images Below to be Taken to Buy them Online

The Easter Egg


Jan Brett's beloved Easter tale, now available as a board book
If Hoppi can make the best Easter egg, he will get to help the Easter Bunny with his deliveries on Easter morning. But it is not so easy. Discouraged, he goes into the woods to think when a blue robin's egg tumbles out of its nest. Hoppi keeps it safe and warm until the baby bird hatches. When the Easter Bunny arrives and Hoppi presents the empty blue eggshell, the Easter Bunny declares it the very best one to reward Hoppi for his kindness.
Spring is everywhere in gorgeous illustrations framed with pussy willows, flowering vines and flowers. Side borders feature busy rabbits making their unusual eggs and, in a border above, the Robin's family drama unfolds.
Jan Brett's lovable bunny hero and her remarkable Easter Bunny will enchant young readers.